top of page

Who We Are

Our Mission

Our Mission

The Mission of the Independence Village is to be the VOICE for our residents who valiantly overcome individual challenges everyday. Our Vision is to help our Residents achieve their VOICE and to experience the highest level of personal independence possible. 


The Independence Village provides safe, affordable housing for adults with mental and/or physical challenges and maintains a healthy, happy home that fosters community involvement and independent lifestyles.

The Independence Village is a unique facility, in that it evolved from the needs of its own community to provide quality residential services at a reasonable rate. Our adults with disabilities desire to live as independently as possible within their home community where they maintain the support of family and friends. A family-style atmosphere is supported with the safety of supervision. Residents are encouraged to be as independent as possible and to enjoy a fulfilling lifestyle that is focused on them.

Independence Village began in 1982, when Gladys Stephenson placed an ad in local newspapers, calling a meeting of those parents who shared concern for the long-term care and residential needs for individuals with developmental and physical disabilities. Sixteen parents of adult children with disabilities from Galveston County responded and later that year formally organized as a nonprofit entity under the name HRA Inc. (Helping Residents Achieve). With an elected Board of Directors, a willingness to volunteer time and effort, this dedicated group was intent on safeguarding the future of their children by building a local, affordable assisted living facility.


In October of 1992 after a decade of hard work and community support, the shared dream to provide quality long-term residential care for adults with developmental and physical disabilities was realized and the doors were opened. 

In 2006, the Board of Directors voted to change the name to “The Independence Village” to more accurately reflect the underlying mission of The Village:  to provide a safe, affordable facility for its residents, where independence for each resident is fostered, and where they are encouraged to engage in the communities that surround and support them. 

Untitled design.png

Gladys Stephenson


The Village grew and flourished for many years, and in 2017, once again, the Board of Directors revisited the mission of The Village.  While maintaining its high standards for providing quality residential living, the Board reframed the mission statement to reflect a more personal, individual-centered focus.  The Village's new mission is to be the VOICE for the Residents:






Every day!


Each of us at The Independence Village strives to help our residents achieve their VOICE!

Our History

Board of Directors

Board of Directors

fred kindervater_edited.jpg
Fred Kindervater


Marathon GBR

Carol Jenkins.jpg
Carol Jenkins


UTMB - Retired

Lauren Kaiser


Bespoke Builds Design Center - Owner/Designer

Jennifer Ott Roth.jpg
Jennifer Ott Roth


Attorney at Law

Cameron Hawkins

Vice President

Enterprise Holdings

Susan Bailey


UTR Texas Realtors

sandra mcdermott.jpg
Sandy McDermott


Teacher - Retired 

Derrick Brown


Vice President of Business Development at Associated Credit Union of Texas (ACU of Texas)

Janice Johnston.JPG
Janice Johnston


Texas City ISD

Rebecca Millo.jpg
Rebecca Millo


Attorney at Law

Community Advisory Board

Community Advisory Board
  • Mr. Emken Linton, Chairman, Advisory Board - Emken Linton Funeral Home

  • Mrs. Brenda Allen - Staff Services Officer/ Coastal Fisheries Division -

       Texas Parks & Wildlife​

  • Mrs. Ashley Carner - COO, Amoco FCU

  • Mr. Jack Click – CEO, Associated Credit Union of Texas

  • Mr. Bim Crowder – Crowder Funeral Homes

  • Mr. Randy Dietel - President, National Pipe & Piling, Inc.

  • Mr. Don Gartman - Retired Galveston County Economic Alliance

  • Ms. Carol Jenkins - Retired, UTMB 

  • Mr. Jerry LeBlanc - Binnacle Development & Construction

  • Mrs. Genevieve McGarvey – Attorney, McLeod, Alexander, Powel & Appfel

  • Ms. Georgia Meyer-Barzilay - Co-Owner, Karat Creations on 6th St.

  • Mrs. Joyce Newman, Retired

  • Ms. Sharon Olmedo - Social Worker - formerly with Memorial Hermann HC

  • Mrs. Catherine O. (“Kitty”) Potter - Retired, Texas First Bank

  • Mr. Jack Roady - District Attorney, Galveston County

  • Mr. Phil Roberts - Attorney, Mabry, Herbeck & Roberts

  • Mrs Carolyn Rose - Gulf Coast Center- Retired

  • Mr. Dennis Rygaard - Managing Member, Rygaard Consulting

  • Mr. Pete Rygaard - Former Mayor of City of La Marque

  • Mrs. Laura Selman - Retired, Beeler Mansky Clinic

  • Mrs. Hazel Surratt - Retired, T. A. Newman Construction

  • Mr. Rusty Tidwell - Owner, Greater Houston Office Products

  • Ms. Peggy Zahler - PZ Consulting

  • Mrs. Dana Zeringue - Retired, Valero Texas City

Ex Officio Members

  • Mr. Chris Delesandri – Retired, Executive Director, United Way Galveston County Mainland

In Memoriam

  • Mr. Roy Halle - 1999-2021

  • Mr. Mike Johnson - 1998-2021

  • Mr. J. T. Floyd - 1998-2023

The Independence Village would like to thank our 30th Anniversary Co-Chairs Mr. Randy Dietel and Mr. Emken Linton for their leadership and commitment during our 30th Anniversary year of celebration in 2022.

Logo Main.png
Our Staff

Our Staff

Village Leadership


Judy Slocumb

Executive Director


Kellie Rae VanZandt

Office Administrator


Kimberly Hunter, LVN

Medication Manager


Sharon Johnson – Shift Leader

Perla Garcia - Kitchen Manager

Jennifer Cooley - Art Director


Glenn Allen - Maintenance


Gwen Bellow

Angie Crookshank

Estella Herrera

Lakeshia McClenan

Shaddai Oros

Candie Parrish

Anna Soliz

Crystal Villarreal

bottom of page